The metadata API has been a useful tool for SEO professionals and website developers for several years now. By giving users access to the information about a website, like when it was built and who built it, the metadata API allows users to find out more about a site.
However, in November 2018, many people reported that the metadata API was giving false information about websites. In some cases, the information returned was from a totally different website, and in other cases, the information returned was that the site had been deleted by its owner.
Although Google said that this was an error that had been fixed, many people are still experiencing this issue. Some people have even reported getting this error when trying to get info on sites that are not deleted.
This article will explain what this error is and how to fix it if you experience it.
When a user watches a video on YouTube
A major part of the YouTube experience is watching other users’ videos. You can watch random videos, make video lists, or see what your friends or favorite channels are posting.
Many users spend a lot of time watching videos and adding to their watch history. This makes it very difficult for YouTube to determine whether a user has actually watched a video or not.
Has your friend actually watched the video they added to their watch list? Has your sister watched all the wedding videos she added? Only they can truly answer that!
With this in mind, YouTube has just announced their new Watch Time feature. This feature will let you set a goal for how long you want to spend watching videos on YouTube every day.
If you meet your goal, then you will receive rewards! It is unclear what these rewards will be yet, but many are looking forward to them.
The YouTube API locator
Another way to find channels is through the YouTube API locator. This feature allows you to search for channels based on keywords.
If you are looking for vegan cooking channels, for example, you could search “vegan” in the diet category and get a list of all the channels that have “vegan” in their titles or that upload content about vegan cuisine.
You can also do this with genres or countries! It is a great way to discover new channels and niches.
Invalid_locator: Retrieve Result Has Been Deleted
The Invalid_locator error means that the user has tried to retrieve a result that has been deleted. This could be because the user has tried to retrieve a past search result or because the item has been removed from the index.
The reason for the deletion could be due to the item being outdated or no longer available. In this case, there is not much you can do except for retry your request after some time.
Unfortunately, there is no way of knowing if the result was deleted or if the item was found, only that you receive this error. There is no way to prevent this error from occurring, only deal with its consequences.
This could happen with any app and any search, it depends on what your app is doing and how it is using the API.
How can I fix this issue?
Unfortunately, there is no definitive way to fix this issue. It is an issue with the Xcode software, so Apple would be the best source of help.
They have a few articles that may help you fix this problem, such as “Xcode 9: Unable to Create Project due to Invalid Location” and “xcodebuild -project
These only show how to delete the project and start over, however. If you have already done that and it did not work, then you will need to contact Apple support for further help.
Contacting them is the only way to find out if your device is affected or not, as well. There has been no confirmation whether or not older devices are affected by this bug, but it is best to assume that they are in case of a solution.
What should I do to protect my videos?
While there is no way to completely protect your videos from being taken down, you can use several tools to make it more difficult.
YouTube provides free software called VidMonitor that allows you to monitor your videos for views, comments, likes, and dislikes as well as who watches the video and their IP address.
This allows you to see if someone is trying to steal your video or if someone leaves a bad comment or review that needs to be responded to. You can also check their IP address to see if it is a country that has issued a copyright violation before taking any further action.
Another tool offered by YouTube is Copyright Match which checks your video for copyright violations and flags them. This allows you to take action quickly in case of a theft or infringement.
What should I do if my videos have been stolen?
Unfortunately, if your videos have been stolen, there is not much you can do at this point. You can put up a copyright claim, which will result in the video being deleted and the user being blocked from YouTube.
This does not guarantee your content will not be re-uploaded by another user, however. The best way to prevent this is to invest in a good camera and editing software so that your content is high quality and cannot be easily duplicated.
You can also promote your content on other social media platforms such as Instagram or Facebook to get more views there. This way, you are still gaining views and exposure for your content and promoting your brand.
If you see that someone has re-uploaded your video, you can report them for copyright infringement and have the video taken down.
Who does this affect?
Anyone who uses the Google Search API is affected by this bug. If your application uses the Google Search API to pull information into your application, then your application is affected.
Any developer that had their app reviewed by the Google Play Reviewer may have had this bug overlooked. Since the reviewer checks for privacy issues and API misuse, this may have been overlooked.
Anyone who had an app that pulled information from Google Search via the API is at risk of having their data deleted. Since no warning was given, developers were not able to preemptively fix their apps or take down functionality.
Any user of an app that pulls information from Google Search via the API is at risk of having their data deleted. If an app was using older versions of the API, then there is a higher chance that data was pulled from cached results rather than live results.
What should I look for to protect my content?
You should always be alert when using any content creation tools. Many popular apps have security features that you can use to protect your content. These features vary from app to app, so be sure to look into them!
Many feature a privacy mode that allows you to create content without it being public. You choose whether or not it is private or public and it will not send it to the server unless you choose so. This is a great way to test out the app and see if you like it before posting content publicly.
Some apps have security settings that allow you to set a time limit for posting content. This is great for those who want to post regularly, but do not want old posts on the app. Having this setting allows you to keep your content fresh and up-to-date.